Day 12 – Driving the Miles

Wow, 387 miles and 10 antique stores; and I thought it was an easy day!  We slept in a bit, I rearranged the car a bit and we hit the road.  It felt like we missed a lot of stores, but the ones we went to were usually clumped together so we could walk to several at one time.  Dinner in Colby, Kansas was amazing; a Mexican restaurant in a hotel had the best chile rellenos I have had (outside of  homemade).  We also hit another time change so we got an hour back tonight.

IMG_4110

This Congoleum store display was wonderful.  We forget the great patterns and designs from the 1930s and 40s.  I put some amazing pink/purple Marmoleum floors in one of my bathrooms and love it.  These designs were so neat, especially the ones that looked like woven rugs.  The two ladies demonstrating their floors in the pictures at the top were very cool as well.  Who would have thought of a sheet tile flooring in the bedroom?

IMG_4120

Next ‘find’ looked more like a prop from a horror movie, or from this angle, Cleopatra’s headdress.  There is an 8×10 photo attached showing the curler in use.  It makes me happy for innovations in beauty products!  It was a lot of work to look good back in the day.  I don’t know what you would do with this today, other than add to a crazy rumpus room decor or display in a beauty shop.

IMG_4121

This was my favorite ‘I really want to buy them’ items of the day.  They were way out of retail price range ($40-80 per book!), but sooo cool in person.  I hadn’t seen them before, and there was a stack of 10 or so books here so I spent some time going through them.  Great art and very cool pop-up’s.  The Circus and zoo books were the best, with very intricate pop-up scenes.  I will have to keep an eye out for them in book sections in the future.

IMG_4130

This is an example of why I do my best to always walk over and pick up every interesting thing I see.  It takes more time, but you find stuff that you would miss otherwise.  This looks like a set of beat-up Breyers, right?  I walked over and picked up each one.  The Man O War is chalky!  He has so little white that only the bottom of the hooves betrayed his secret.

IMG_4146

Finally, our finds for the day.  The elephant is a battleship grey version and in nice condition.  The milk bottle is from Lovelock Nevada and I haven’t seen another.  The poodle lamp was in great shape, the shade was in good condition and it worked!  The pink poodle with black cat-eye glasses was a great find.  Pink poodles always sell well and this one is one of the most popular.  We have not seen a run of the mill pink poodle that was affordable this trip, so this one made us happy.

I wont have internet access tomorrow night, so unless I can figure out a way to post from my phone I will see ‘yall on Friday!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 12 – Driving the Miles

  1. Denise

    Ah, yes, the permanent wave machine from the ’20’s/’30’s! Great pic-and loved the Hartland Wyatt Earp in the picture! Great finds and pics/blog-really enjoy this! Thanks for posting and have a safe drive!

Leave a Reply

