The Western Horse Clock

I had a completely different post subject, however I have been waylaid by curiosity.  This post is partly for the die-hard collectors and partly to educate those newer or less detail-oriented in the model horse world.  You will see why as I go through this post.

I have both a horse-over-the-clock and a horse-next-to-the-clock.  This post is dedicated to exploring the difference between these two pieces.  First I have to recommend Mike Jackson’s definitive article “Mastercrafters Horse Clocks” here: http://www.myhartlands.com/pages/MastercraftersClocks.html.  If you are a model horse collector you MUST read this article.  His page is an in-depth research article, my writing is an in-person comparison of two models.  So here we go…

IMG_4621[1]

This horse-over-the-clock (HotC for short) I have had for at least 15 years and when I bought it I believed it to be a Breyer.  The horse-next-to-the-clock (again, HnttC for short) I found on my Breyerfest trip in the last year or two.  Back in the day, we always wondered about the Ceramic Clock Company hang-tag, but the Chicago address was the same as Mastercrafters, so we thought it was a division of this firm.  The questions asked at the time were – why would a Hartland-style tag be on a Breyer?  Why did it have diamond conchos on the bridle?  It did have the mane on the correct side, and the non-wavy tail, so Breyer production was assumed.

I read Mike’s article a few years ago and relegated the HotC to the store-room.  Tonight I have a blog post due for class, so I was inspired to unpack the model.

IMG_4622[1]

Yes, I broke out the screwdriver for my loyal readers.  Cassie wanted to help, but she has some dexterity problems, so she is relegated to looking cute.  This particular clock has never been used, so for the first time since 1949 the underside of the base will see the light of day (or of a camera flash anyway).

Can I get a drumroll?

IMG_4625[1]

Yep, that is a bad picture of the Hartland diamond I mold mark (the almost-invisible square near the middle of the picture – look at the bottom mounting peg and the mark is at about 11:30 from that point).  Chalk up another HotC to Hartland.  For future reference, she has a brown with whitewash skirting saddle which is slip-on, diamond conchos on the bridle, and o-link style reins.  My favorite new piece of information is this:

IMG_4632[1]

Man, are we detail-oriented or what?  Can you see the difference in the angle of the hoof wall?  The Hartland is on the right with the almost-straight hoof wall (you can see it best in the right-fore hoof).  The Breyer is on the left with the slightly curved hoof wall.  It makes me laugh to think of how to explain this detail to a non-collector or dealer.  I have the hardest time explaining the difference between a PAM and FAM, can you imagine this conversation?  Dealer – “I have a great plastic horse clock for you.”  Me – “Are the front walls of the hooves of the horse convex or straight?”  Dealer – “…”

IMG_4634[1]

This is how I know this clock was never used.  The power cord is still in its original wrapping!  How cool is that?

Comments, thoughts and questions are always welcome.  I will answer every one I get, and if you post your comment to this article we can continue the discussion below.

PS – for you, my loyal readers, I went through my old Breyerfest photo albums and struck gold.

IMG_4637[1]

 

1995 Breyerfest.  Veterans Collectors Class.  First place (that pink ribbon is either the participation ribbon or the peoples choice ribbon).

Wait – it gets better.

IMG_4636[1]

I have no memory of what we talked about, but I am sure it was fascinating….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

